Day 6, august 31st
Start: cowboy camp at mile 559
End: Seth warner shelter, mile 589
Miles hiked: 30

My alarm goes off at 5:30 am; snooze. Another fifteen minutes later, and I snooze it again. Finally, I’m up and moving at 6. It’s just too comfy to not lay in bed forever. The ground where we lay is layered with dead leaves from years prior, and has become soft with age. There’s nothing better than sleeping on the ground, I think to myself.

I’m hiking fast this morning – the trail is doing it’s best impersonation of the pct. Scuttle keeps right with me. Before we know it, the morning is almost over, and we’ve done 15 miles.

“I think we’re on pace for our first 30,” I tell scuttle, “just have one big climb to crush this afternoon.”

“We got this!” She responds.

We meet several large groups of Princeton college students out for orientation trips. Then some northbound LT hikers. There’s so many hikers out on the trail for the holiday weekend. It feels fairly clustered, but everyone is very nice.

We hike up to Glastonbury mountain, which supposedly is a very ‘haunted’ mountain, if you believe in that sort of thing. You can research it and read all of the stories about it. The summit is fully encased in misty clouds, yet scuttle and I head up to the top of the look out tower.

“Hopefully the ghosts don’t push you off the ladder!” I tease. Scuttle is a bit frightened from the stories of the mountain.

I take tons of pictures (see below) at the summit, hoping for orbs of shadows or anything at all ghostly. But I can’t spot anything. Let me know if you look closely and see anything, it would be awesome to catch an
Orb. James from trout lake (the alien observation area we stated at on the pct) would be so proud if I caught one in digital film!

Nothing happens, unfortunately, as I would love to believe, a see are left descending the mountains with no tales to add to the lore.

Scuttle and I drop really low down to VT 2, and approach our big climb. I throw in the ear phones and crank some 311 tunes. Giant rock steps await me, each one seems larger than the last. I take it as a challenge to get up as fast as I can, determined not to take any breaks. It’s fun to have these little challenges on the trail. It keeps me entertained, keeps me moving fast, and helps make the days more interesting. Plus, it’s just fun to crush up mountains; it feels good!

Scuttle is not far behind me; she’s so strong! And we continue the momentum past congdon shelter, where I spent my first night on the LT back in 2010, making it all of the way to Seth warner shelter, just 3 miles shy of the Vermont/Massachusetts border. There’s a group of four there, all on their first day of an attempt to hike the long trail end to end. The cabin is small, but they make room for us so that we don’t have to set up the tarp in what has turned into a steady rain.

Our first 30 mile day on the trail, and it feels so good! It makes me feel much better about the pace we need to hit, a 23 mile a day average. I’m hopeful that we can maintain that average.

IMG_6907.JPG

IMG_6905.JPG

IMG_6900.JPG

IMG_6903.JPG

IMG_6913.JPG

IMG_6917.JPG

IMG_6915.JPG

IMG_7001.JPG

IMG_6921.JPG

IMG_6926.JPG