Tags

, , , , , ,

In just three days I’ll be taking off on a flight to California. Even though it has been months of planning, this has really all come so fast for me. I’m just now wrapping everything up at work, and over the next two days I’ll get all my other ducks in a row here in Denver. I spent my weekend hiking ~40 miles on the Colorado Trail with two very good friends. It felt good, and I was glad to get some big miles under my belt before hitting the trail. It gave me confidence that I can do roughly 20-25 miles a day to start. It also gave me some good ideas for things I need before I actually head out on the trail.

This will be the last post that I actually type up. While I’m out on the trail, I’ll keep a pen and paper journal most nights. I’ll then send this along to my good friend Andrea, who will type it up and post to my blog. Additionally, my friend from grade school, Badger, will be receiving memory cards from my camera along the way. He will then post them to my blog occasionally.

If you want to follow my progress along the way, you can do so by clicking on the page “follow my progress” above, and following the link therein. This will show where I am at in real time.

I would like to take a moment to thank my great family and friends (especially my parents) for all of the support. So often, people are pushed into conforming to societal norms. It’s not always easy to accept that your Son, brother, friend is going to just get up and take a leave from their stable life and do something out of the norm for a long period of time. I know of many people who do not have supportive family and friends when they take on such an adventure. However, I haven’t run into one instance of that. So to all my friends and family, thank you! Without your support, I would not be given this opportunity.

I leave you now, with a list of the things I am most looking forward to. Because I’m a nerdy accountant, and I love lists.

1. Heightening my senses in the natural world – Going to bed when it gets dark, waking up when it gets light. Feeling the breeze, and hearing the natural sounds.
2. Sleeping under the stars – I plan on cowboy camping most nights. I can’t wait to wake up in the middle of the night, open my eyes, and see nothing but the stars and the great milky way!
3. Living a life in motion – I’ve spent far too much of my life sitting on my butt, looking at a computer screen. I can’t wait to live life constantly on the move, using my body as it was meant.
4. To be a part of a moving community – Long trails have a way of connecting people. Not just those that are thru-hiking, but those that are section hiking, or helping those who are hiking. I am excited to be a part of this community.
5. Meeting others that have the same goals – I can’t wait to see what types of characters I meet on the trail. Every trail I hike I make great friends with others who are hiking. Being out there with others is very conducive to forming strong connections and making lasting friendships.
6. Most of all, I am excited to see how this adventure affects me. There is much about me that I want and need to work on. I hope this journey is not just a physical one, but a personal mind altering, and spiritual journey that pushes me to become a better person, and see life from a perspective that I have yet to see.

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” – Marcel Proust

Happy Trails 🙂

zzzzzzzz